MOVIE REVIEW: FAST & FURIOUS 6 (2013)

Running time: 2 hours, 10 minutes
Cast: Vin Diesel, Paul Walker, Dwayne Johnson, Michelle Rodriguez, Gina Carano, Tyrese Gibson
Director: Justin Lin

This movie should be called Fun, Fast, & Furious because I had a blast watching it. I rarely see a movie twice at the movie theater, but I’m hoping I can see this one more time before it heads to DVD (which I plan to buy).

Fast and Furious 6 movie poster

Quick note:

There’s a short scene after the credits so make sure you stay for it. It’s great and I squealed.

A fast plot summary:

Following the money heist in Fast Five, Dom Toretto (Diesel) and his team split up. They are fugitives now, but they’re also super rich. Dobbs (The Rock, er Dwayne Johnson) asks the team to take down a dangerous criminal named Owen Shaw and he provides evidence that Dom’s ex, Letty Ortiz (Rodriguez) is still alive. Dobbs agrees to drop the criminal charges against the team if they help deliver Shaw.

Some things never change

This is Justin Lin’s 4th time directing a Fast movie. They might want to keep him. Vin Diesel’s acting is still horrendous. Good grief, man.

The characters endure a lot of physical punishment yet they always walk away with minor scrapes. No broken bones, not even a concussion.

Great action scenes

It seemed like the action scenes were planned out very well, and there are two that really stick out to me: the bridge and the runway. Even though the characters are moving at very high speeds you always knew where each person was, and you could clearly see each movement as people jumped to different cars, spun out, delivered a right hook to someone’s jaw, etc.

The hand to hand combat was nice too

This movie delivered more than car chases. We also saw people get some good, old fashioned ass whippings. Gina Carano, a former MMA fighter, had an awesome fight scene with Michelle Rodriguez, and the other characters had their own individual fight scenes that were really good as well.

Final thought

I could write a super long post about why I loved this movie, but I think it’d be better if everyone heads to the theater to see it.

If you saw Fast 6 did you love it as much as I did?!

3 Comments on “MOVIE REVIEW: FAST & FURIOUS 6 (2013)”

  1. melewis2121 says:

    I loved Fast 6 and loved the fact that it tied in all the other movies together! And I am so happy Letty is back! I cannot wait for the next movie. Unfortunately Justin Lin has stated that he is done with F&F and wants to move on to other projects. I am apprehensive of what this will do to the franchise but have hopes that Justin Lin will be back.

    • mynerdypony says:

      Uh oh, I didn’t know Justin Lin wants to stop directing the F&F movies! I don’t blame him though, because he can’t do that for the rest of his life. I like Letty too! This next installment should be awesome.

      • melewis2121 says:

        He might be in the middle of a beef with the studio because now they are wanting to pump out the next installment in a year which is a bit fast. But yeah this series is his baby and I can understand a break, but I hope that no matter how this next one goes, he comes back. Justin Lin is as big apart of the franchise as is Paul Walker or Vin Diesel.


Leave a Reply

