MOVIE REVIEW: IRON MAN 3 (2013)

Running time: 2 hours, 10 minutes
Cast: Robert Downey, Jr., Gwyneth Paltrow, Don Cheadle, Guy Pearce, Ben Kingsley, Rebecca Hall
Director: Shane Black

I enjoyed Iron Man 3 but I doubt I would ever watch it again. It’s a fun summer movie with some cool action sequences, and Robert Downey, Jr. delivers another great performance as Tony Stark, but after awhile I got tired of the explosions and wanted to see more of the actual story. Also, the villians kinda sucked in this one.

Iron Man 3 movie starring Robert Downey, Jr and Gwyneth Paltrow

Of course this movie stars off with a look into Tony Stark’s super-rich, super-exclusive, are-you-jealous-yet lifestyle. He’s at a New Year’s Eve party in 1999 with Michelle Hansen (Hall), a scientist who is working on a regenerative treatment named Extremis. Tony blows off an impromptu meeting with another scientist named Aldrich Killian (Pearce) and it comes back to haunt him. So…

Fast forward a few years and Tony is suffering from panic attacks following the events from The Avengers movie. He works endlessly to create an army of Iron Man suits, but his work puts a strain on his relationship with Pepper Potts. A terrorist named the Mandarin starts launching a string of bombings, one of the bombings hits too close for comfort in Tony’s area, and the war is on!

One cool thing about this movie is the Iron Man army that is controlled remotely by JARVIS, and occasionally Tony Stark will jump into one of the suits as needed. Who doesn’t love shiny robots? However, with all of the high flying and super-speed tricks there is something that the movie is missing, which is a convincing villian.

Ben Kingsley has a comedic turn as the Mandarin, who appears in mass televised broadcasts and talks about his bombings. His character actually has a minor role here. Then we have Killian who is still bitter that Tony blew off their meeting many years before, and he’s determined to show that Extremis is a dangerous force that needs to be respected.

I liked Guy Pearce as Killian. He could’ve played this role as a one-dimensional, bitter brute who wants to laugh at Iron Man and say ‘Haha I’m stronger than you” but Pearce tries to give his character multiple layers and imply that perhaps Killian is in over his head. But even with Killian’s powers I still wasn’t convinced that he could actually defeat Tony Stark.

Overall I enjoyed Iron Man 3 but I do think its the weakest of the entire trilogy. It is a fun movie and I would recommend it, but if I had to pick out some of my favorites from the growing Marvel movie canon I’m not sure I would reach for this one.

If you saw Iron Man 3 let me know what you thought about it!

2 Comments on “MOVIE REVIEW: IRON MAN 3 (2013)”

  1. CMrok93 says:

    I liked how this movie wrapped up. Without diving into specifics, if this is the final Iron Man film, then I think that it makes for a fine conclusion. Good review.

    • mynerdypony says:

      Thank you for reading! I read an article about RDJ being in negotiations for Iron Man 4. It could be wishful thinking so I’m not sure how true it is, but I do think the Iron Man series could produce another good movie.


Leave a Reply

