MOVIE REVIEW: EVIL DEAD (2013)

Running time: 1 hour, 31 minutes
Cast:  Jane Levy, Shiloh Fernandez, Lou Taylor Pucci, Jessica Lucas
Director: Fede Alvarez

When this remake of 1981’s The Evil Dead was first announced, diehard fans flocked online and went smooth OFF. They couldn’t believe that someone dared to remake a classic horror film, and even Bruce Campbell (one of the remake’s producers) had to do some early press to help calm down the fans.

I was skeptical too, because re-makes and reboots of classics don’t turn out well – remember Jackie Earle Haley’s A Nightmare on Elm Street? Yea.

Let’s get to the point here. I really enjoyed this movie. It’s gory, bloody, and just tons of fun. But is it a QUALITY movie? Ehhh…

Evil Dead 2013

Alot of scenes in this remake paid homage to the original movie, but it deviated once we arrived at the final, bloody act. A group of 5 friends meet at a cabin in a heavily wooded area. Mia (Levy) becomes possessed after a deeply cringe-worthy experience in the woods, and when she arrives back at the cabin she unleashes hell upon geeky Lou (Pucci), strict Olivia (Lucas), quiet Natalie (Blackmore), and her brother David (Fernandez). From this point forward the movie is nothing more than an excess of torture, pain, and blood.

There were some things that disappointed me, like the character Natalie. Occasionally she spoke or was spoken to, but she was pretty much invisible until it was her turn to experience hell. Once that happened I found that I just didn’t care about her. Another character, Olivia, was way too unlikeable. She was the ultimate hard-ass and I was happy to see her go. Then I wondered why the other characters would be friends with someone like her. I mention ‘character likeability’ because in horror movies you always need someone to root for. But if you hate everyone on-screen then what’s the point?

I also didn’t like this silly sub story about the friends gathering at the cabin because Mia was on drugs and needed to detox. I thought it was unnecessary and contributed to the fact that some of the characters were not useful. Mia is important because she has to detox. David is her brother, and Olivia is the one who orchestrated the whole thing. But where does that leave Natalie and Lou? This should’ve been a story about friends going on vacation so everyone would have something to contribute once they arrived at the cabin.

Overall, I’d say the remake is definitely worth seeing. I think Jane Levy did a great job as the main character Mia, and I’m a huge horror fan so I enjoyed the gritty nature of the movie. I was disappointed with some parts of the storyline and some of the characters were a huge annoyance to me so I can’t honestly say that Evil Dead is a top tier horror movie, although it definitely tried to be.

Did you enjoy this remake? Let me know!

2 Comments on “MOVIE REVIEW: EVIL DEAD (2013)”

  1. theipc says:

    I LOVED it ~

  2. Great review. I got to say, I really enjoyed this movie. I was nervous going in that it wouldn’t honor Sam Raimi’s masterpiece, but thankfully it played plenty of homage to the original. While part of me does miss the humor, I don’t mind that much since I got plenty of action and gore.

    I finally got around to reviewing this movie on my own novice, review-blog. I could always use an experienced critic’s opinion to help me fine-tune my reviews. Check it out if you get the time.

    http://horrormoviemedication.blogspot.com/2013/10/the-evil-dead-no-more-messing-round-we.html#evil


Leave a Reply

