MY NERDY PONY: 2013 OSCARS PICKS

Hi folks! Tonight is the biggest night of the year for film, the Academy Awards! Let’s get into it, shall we? Below are my picks, along with my reasoning behind them:

Quick read: Lincoln is going to take Picture, Director, Actor.

BEST PICTURE

THE WINNER IS: LINCOLN

I know alot of people who favor Zero Dark Thirty, and their reasoning is this film takes a story that we already know the ending to, and somehow still makes its suspenseful. If you ask me, I think Argo did the same thing but did it better. Argo is my personal pick, but Ben Affleck got snubbed for Best Director so I’m thinking the Academy will favor Lincoln, especially since Daniel Day-Lewis gave such a great performance.

BEST ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE

THE WINNER IS: DANIEL DAY-LEWIS

Do I really need to explain? You did see Lincoln, right? No one understood The Master, Bradley Cooper was no match for Jennifer Lawrence or Robert De Niro in his own movie, Hugh Jackman is a huge long shot, and in my opinion Denzel Washington is a runner up, but a very distant one.

BEST ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

THE WINNER IS: CHRISTOPH WALTZ

This was a tough one for me. I loved Robert DeNiro in Silver Linings Playbook. I thought his performance helped carry the film and gave it warmth and heart. Tarantino carried Waltz to victory for Inglourious Basterds and I think he’s going to do again for Django Unchained.

BEST ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE

THE WINNER IS: JENNIFER LAWRENCE

This is my personal opinion: I think there’s many actresses who could do what Jessica Chastain did in Zero Dark Thirty. Chastain has some awesome films under her belt but I still don’t think of her as a great actress. Lawrence’s chemistry with the other actors in Playbook, along with her on-screen confidence and wittiness sealed the deal for me.

BEST ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

THE WINNER IS: ANNE HATHAWAY

I think Anne is a shoe-in. Now we have to sit through one more of her awkward thank-you speeches, but at least it’ll be over.

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE FILM

THE WINNER IS: WRECK-IT RALPH

I think Brave is the safe choice here, but I’m going to hold out for Wreck-it Ralph.

BEST DIRECTOR

THE WINNER IS: STEVEN SPIELBERG

I think Steven Spielberg has it wrapped up. I could probably see Michael Haneke (Amour) or even David O. Russell (Playbook) sneaking up from behind, but I think that Daniel Day-Lewis magic will help Lincoln win its categories.

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM

THE WINNER IS: AMOUR

This movie has racked up a ton of award nominations around the globe and it even won the Palme d’Or at the 2012 Cannes Festival. I think it’s a shoe-in.

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

THE WINNER IS: ARGO

I almost picked Playbook here, but the Argo script was air tight in my opinion and I couldn’t think of anyway to improve on it.

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

THE WINNER IS: ZERO DARK THIRTY

I’d like to see Django Unchained win this one, but think about this: If you had to write about the search for Bin Laden and dramatize the operation that lead to his death, how would you do it? Where would you start? I think the subject is incredibly difficult but what Mark Boal came up with is amazing and should be awarded.

 

THOUGHTS? I’m excited!

 

Leave a Reply

