THE DARK KNIGHT RISES (YES, SPOILERS.)

This isn’t a true review of the movie, because I think anyone who has seen The Dark Knight Rises (TDKR) agrees that it’s a great movie. Hotly anticipated movies such Django Unchained and The Great Gatsby haven’t been released yet (those will be released on Christmas Day) but I believe TDKR will be #1 or #2 on the end-of-the-year ‘Top 10 Movies’ lists. Mostly, this article will discuss why I loved the entire movie and why I didn’t like some parts of it.

And for goodness sakes, can this movie get Best Picture and Best Director nominations when the Oscars season starts heating up? Geez.

Below are three things I liked and three things I didn’t like about TDKR.

1. CATWOMAN. YES.

I was really worried about Anne Hathaway. I didn’t think she had the chops to pull off such a sexy, manipulative, and vulnerable character, but she completely proved me wrong. Anne is hot and fierce in this movie and I loved every second she was on screen. Her flirtations with Batman were cute and funny, and I loved the rooftop scene when Batman started talking, turned his back to Catwoman, and when he turned around again he noticed she had quietly disappeared. Then he dropped this one-liner: “So that’s what that feels like.” Nice.

Plus, how awesome was it that she was never called Catwoman?! I know that’s her alter ego but to call her Catwoman would be very cheesy.

2. NO MAN’S LAND.

At the beginning of the movie Gotham City was peaceful and orderly. Then Bane brought chaos and rebellion to Gotham City and the movie became unbearably tense. Gotham turned into a ghost town as people hid or were trapped in various places throughout the city, and although this movie became formulaic as it reached its ending (Batman suddenly appears as time is ticking down on the bomb clock) I found the scenery and environment to be very exciting.

3. BANE’S DIALOGUE

Here’s a few gems. I think Bane’s most powerful moment in the movie was his first confrontation with Batman, which left Batman with a broken back and a defeated spirit.

Speak of the devil and he shall appear.

Theatricality and deception, powerful agents for the uninitiated. But we are initiated, aren’t we Bruce?

Ah you think darkness is your ally? You merely adopted the dark. I was born in it, molded by it. I didn’t see the light until I was already a man, by then it was nothing to me but blinding!

Ah! I was wondering what would break first: your spirit, or your body!

1. ROBIN

While I was watching the movie I noticed that John Blake had a pretty large role even though he’s supposed to be a supporting character. Then I realized all of his screen time was meant to make him likeable and believable as Robin, who presumably takes over the Batcave and follows in Batman’s step as a masked crusader. I thought the ending was nice but it didn’t seem necessary to me. I think it was good enough that Batman saved Gotham City.

2. BANE

His voice = my tears. Bane’s voice is incredibly annoying and there’s a couple of times when his voice gets a little too high-pitched for my taste. At times he seems very cartoonish.

My biggest disappointment came with the revelation that Bane is essentially a henchman for Miranda Tate. It turns out that Bane wasn’t calling the shots throughout the entire movie, and in fact he was working for a woman who feels indebted to him because he helped save her life when she was a child. Bane’s purpose was to immobilize the city so Miranda could successfully blow up the city. Bane did his job but it seems like Miranda was the bigger threat.

My understanding is Bane held Gotham hostage for 3 months or so. Isn’t that how long Bruce was in that prison? What exactly was Bane doing all of that time? And if Bane and Miranda came up with a plan that took at least 3 months to execute, they aren’t that bright and shouldn’t be villians in this movie.

Sigh.

3. GOOFS AND BLUNDERS

While Bruce was in the isolated prison, i was my impression that Bane had his men surround the city to make sure no one leaves. But somehow Bruce casually walks into Gotham and approaches Selina Kyle. How did he get past Bane’s guys? And how did Bruce even get there in the first place? He had no money and no one to help him.

This was done a few times in The Dark Knight, but good grief it seemed to double in this last installment: people’s mouths weren’t moving even though you could hear their voice and know that they are talking.

I’m not an engineer, but I noticed alot of the bridges had a huge middle section blown apart. The rest of the bridge should’ve fallen down, right? What’s holding up the bridges to account for the middle being gone?

4 Comments on “THE DARK KNIGHT RISES (YES, SPOILERS.)”

  1. John Connor says:

    I loved the movie too – and I’m having a debate over Bane’s role in the film – from my point of view Bane is at least equally a mastermind as Talia. He’s not some henchman – the way he talks, how he calls shots and honestly just any scene that he’s in doesn’t seem to be micro-managed by Talia. They are both initiated and no henchman or stupid person is going to take out Batman. Her revelation as a villain at the end is not the same as automatically being the mastermind of everything. The movie doesn’t explain that.

    In the comics though, Bane is a genius. He taught himself multiple languages, philosophy and built his intelligence comparable to the top experts leading in whatever fields of study he undertook. And that’s not all.

  2. mynerdypony says:

    Hi John, thanks for the comment!

    I think the Bane character could’ve been handled different. I keep hearing about how intelligent he is in the comics but I feel like that wasn’t translated in the movie. When Talia was revealed as the villain she was given a monologue to explain how she got to the point where she was holding the detonator for a bomb and had a knife in Batman’s body. Then she looked at Bane and simply said his crime was loving her. To me, that lessened his impact in the movie.

    I do agree that she wasn’t micro managing him and I guess that’s why I was confused by their roles. At first thought it seemed they were working together, but once Catwoman quickly disposed of Bane and then Talia marched on to continue her destruction it seemed like Talia was given the upper hand of being a villian and not Bane.

    Am I thinking about this too much? My head hurts! -_-

    • John Connor says:

      No, you probably like movies as much as I do, more or less, so this is normal; you’re not thinking too much but I’m sure your head hurts.

      Everything you said to me is almost spot-on. As a movie effect, the Talia reveal made it feel like Bane was less of a villian, but as a movie effect. Not that movie effects don’t matter in a movie but if you think about all situations, actions, etc. you come back to the conclusion that Bane is just as mastermind as Talia. That’s just me, but watch it again and as you watch Bane, try and tell yourself he’s just a extraordinary henchman. The bastard is SMART just listen to him. That is mostly what I can say that puts his ‘lesser villain role’ effect into question after the Talia reveal.

      As for her actions after the Talia reveal; I think that’s what was supposed to happen after a reveal like that, you can’t just have a shocker surprise and have that surprise person not be relevant.

      If you have other thoughts let me know because I’m talking about this with a friend of mine and he has Heath Ledger’s balls in his mouth. People just keep hating on this movie.

      I wish we could ask Christopher Nolan, wouldn’t that solve everything?


Leave a Reply

