MOVIE REVIEW: SILENT HOUSE

Running time: 1 hour, 28 minutes
Cast: Elizabeth Olsen, Adam Trese, Eric Sheffer Stevens
Director: Chris Kentis, Laura Lau

I’ll get right to it: I did not like this movie, and if I could get a refund for my ticket I would ask for one.

Overall the movie never delivered any original scares, and I felt very unsatisfied once it ended. The only thing I liked was Elizabeth Olsen’s performance, but I did get tired of seeing her boobs bounce around onscreen -_-

Silent House begins with Sarah (Olsen), her father John (Trese), and her Uncle Peter (Stevens) at a lakeside house far out into the country (of course!). It’s a broken down place and they’re fixing it up so they can sell it.

This movie starts off with the usual components of a scary movie: the house is located in an isolated, wooded area; there is no electricity and the characters have to walk around with lamps; one character leaves the house before the action begins and conveniently comes back later to hopefully save the day. There’s more examples of how this movie is a simple copy and paste of past horror movies but I really don’t have the time or interest to type it all out.

For over an hour this movie shows Sarah running from room to room hiding and screaming. The typical scares are here: loud noises, shadows, key won’t fit into the lock, Sarah drops and fumbles with the keys when the house invader is approaching…and how many times can someone hide under a table or a bed and the invader never looks under it?

I don’t want to ruin the ending, but I will say that you won’t see it coming. For this movie, that’s not a good thing. Please don’t go to the movie theater and pay 8 or 9 dollars to see this. I’m almost positive you’ll leave with a light wallet and a lingering feeling of regret.

Leave a Reply

