SEASON 6 REVIEW: DEXTER (SPOILER WARNING)

Here’s your warning. This post is full of spoilers from the entire season. Don’t you dare click the link below, read my review and then blast me for spoiling it for you.

Go spoiler go!

Below are my thoughts and questions about some of the big moments from this season.

1. HOW DID BROTHER SAM TIE INTO ALL OF THIS?

Religion is the big theme of this season, but I didn’t know Dexter would stop thinking about religion once Brother Sam died in Episode 6. Dexter seemed to be very thoughtful of Brother Sam’s opinions on faith and forgiveness, but all of that went away once he found Brother Sam’s murderer. I guess Dexter realized his “code” won’t allow him to forgive murderers? I was hoping to see more internal conflict because Dexter is a serial killer, and even though he tries to justify his crimes he’s no better than the people he puts on his killing table. Like I mentioned earlier though, once Dexter avenged Brother Sam’s death it seems like he never thought about religion again.

2. THE ICE TRUCK KILLER? REALLY?

I assume Brian showed up because Dexter was losing faith in his father as his ‘Dark Passenger’. But really, I don’t think the ‘Nebraska’ episode added anything to the season.

3.  DDK WAS A BORE

I was amused that Gellar was dressed like Fred Sanford from ‘Sanford & Son’ in each episode. The twist was exciting though, to know that Travis was just fucked in the head and Gellar was a figment of his imagination. I found it weird that Travis stopped speaking to Gellar once we found out Gellar has been dead for a long time. How convenient that Travis chose that moment to assert his independence. It’s like the writers said “Ok, the secret is out…let’s change Travis to be a methodical killer, even though for most of the series we showed him as a weak, wavering, unwilling participant in these murders.”

I burst into laughter during that one scene when Travis was painting the mural on the wall, and he changed the Beast’s face to be Dexter’s face. That was so silly and non-threatening. Gee.

I can’t believe this is the series that gave us the Trinity Killer and the Ice Truck Killer. Now we have DDK, and no explanation how he managed to set up such complex kills by himself.

4. THANK GOD FOR DEB

What saved this season for me was Deb’s storylines: she became Lieutenant, she found out Matthews was a john to a dead hooker, and she admitted that she’s in love with Dexter.

I feel like Deb is the most developed character. Dexter still has some mystery surrounding him, but that’s natural because that’s his personality. She has no problem confronting authority and she is brutally honest.

I chuckled during her scenes with Quinn. He’s an ass, but I do feel bad that he was so heartbroken when Deb turned down his marriage proposal. I also felt bad for him when he crashed Deb’s party, drunk and with some bimbo on his arm. He asked Deb if she ever truly loved him and she didn’t reply. Ouch.

Admitting her romantic love for Dexter was a huge surprise for me. And her dream about kissing Dexter was crazy! At first I thought her therapy sessions were time killers for each episode but now I realize there was a bigger plan involved. I can’t wait to see this play out next season. But Deb will also have to confront what she saw in the final scene of the season: Dexter killing DDK.

5. DEB SEES DEXTER KILL DDK. NOW WHAT?

It’s safe to say Deb doesn’t know Dexter is a serial killer. Yes, she saw him kill Travis but I don’t think she’s going to jump the gun and realize he’s the Bay Harbor Butcher (but if I remember correctly, Dexter was able to frame Doakes as the Butcher. Ok, nevermind.)

I’m sure Deb will ask him if he’s killed anyone else, and most likely Dexter will lie to her. There’s so many possibilities here!

6. DEXTER REALLY DIDN’T LOCK THE DOOR TO THE CHURCH?

Deb told Dexter to go to the abandoned church to finish up some work. It’s hard to believe Dexter would do a kill in that church knowing that forensics hasn’t finished their work there, and also Deb sent him there so she knows at some point in the future he’ll be there.

Let’s say Dexter couldn’t find peace within himself unless he killed Travis there. Are we supposed to believe he wouldn’t at least find a way to lock or board up the front door. Deb just walked right in! Crazy.

I hope seasons 7 and 8 are better than this season. Some episodes were outstanding, but overall I felt like the show was sloppy with some of the storylines and revelations.

Leave a Reply

