SHORT FILM REVIEW: THE STRANGE THING ABOUT THE JOHNSONS

FYI: This 30-minute short film depicts some disturbing themes. I’ve included the trailer below: it shows only the first 2 minutes of the actual film. By the end of the clip you’ll know exactly what this film is about, but trust me, it’s NOT a spoiler. Be aware that I’m not posting a link to the film. You can easily find it on Youtube, or just Google it.

Ari Aster wrote and directed this award-winning film about a handsome, well to-do family that is hiding a dark secret. The abused, frightened father can’t deal with the burden anymore and he writes a memoir where he discusses in detail what’s happening within his family.

Aster wants people to view this as a dark comedy but in my opinion there’s nothing funny about this. Maybe this is me being overly sensitive but I don’t think there’s any humor in abuse or people ignoring abuse. There’s some other things that happen in this movie that aren’t funny but I won’t ruin it for you.

I suppose all I can say is this: the film has some shoddy acting and the directing was confusing at times, but overall I enjoyed the movie. I must admit that it took me awhile to shake the cringe-worthy ‘wtf’ moments.

Below you can see the poster. This film features a black family but there’s no racially defining moments in the movie. You can replace the characters with white people, Asian people, or talking dogs and I’m sure the film would have the same effect.

Notice the doormat reads ‘HELP’. Sometimes you never know what’s going on in someone’s home.

One Comment on “SHORT FILM REVIEW: THE STRANGE THING ABOUT THE JOHNSONS”

  1. Nice movie! I also felt the same way about the black family thing — kinda random, huh?

    It’s funny, ’cause I have a blog on East Asian Film…take a look! http://eastasiangpsblog.wordpress.com/

    Tell me if you’ve seen any of ’em.

    Great post,
    wanghui138138


Leave a Reply

