101 in 1001. What?

A few years ago I was online looking for a way to better organize my important papers and bills. I found a process called The Tickler System and it led me to a broad time management concept called Getting Things Done (GTD).

During my GTD research I found the Day Zero project. The idea is to make a list of 101 things that you’ve always wanted to do. Then you have 1,001 days to complete each item on the list. Ideally you’ll create a blog to track and document your progress, and you can also use your experiences to encourage others to start their own 101 project.

Right now I’m working on my second 101 project! My first one ended in early February 2011 and I completed a measly 15 tasks 😦 I learned a huge lesson from my first 101, though. First I learned that some of my tasks were just too big and I should’ve broken them down into smaller ones. Second, I learned that I should check my task list at least once a week so I can keep myself motivated. And third, I realized this project is a great way to find out who you are, what’s important to you, and how you’ve changed in just a couple of years.

When I created my first 101 in back in 2008 or 2009, I was determined to go to graduate school. Now I’m in 2011 and I still haven’t followed through on those plans because I want to pursue a different career path. Now I’m interested to see what kind of job and what kind of life I’ll have in 2014 when my second 101 is complete.

Enough talk, here’s my 101!

Leave a Reply

