BLACK FRIDAY IS MY STAY-AT-HOME FRIDAY.

I never ever shop on Black Friday. Sometimes I don’t even leave the house. People are crazy and will run you over just to get that last pair of $5 jeans that isn’t even their size. By the way, I didn’t just make that up. A friend who works in retail shared that story with me last year.

Today I read that Target will open its stores at midnight on Black Friday. Not to be out-done, Walmart decided to open their stores at 10 p.m. on Thanksgiving Day!

Whaaat? I’m waiting for some stores to declare that they’ll be open the entire Thanksgiving Day. I’m sure I’ll see that happen in my lifetime.

Feel free to call me old-fashioned, but I think shopping stores should close early the day before Thanksgiving, close on Thanksgiving Day, and open late on the following day.

Everyone, stay home with your family and loved ones. I don’t mean to be sappy here but just take some time to really enjoy the company of the people who mean the most to you. Don’t wake up at the crack of dawn of Black Friday just to run out to a store and stand in massive lines holding merchandise that you know damn well you don’t need!

Leave a Reply

